Umbrella Graveyard

I was warned before I moved to Istanbul that the winters can be harsh. In reality the temperature is much more forgiving than the humid Ohio Valley winters I spent the last 5 years in, or the massive snowfalls Arizona’s White Mountains can get when there’s not a drought (which admittedly isn’t often). However, since 3 major weather systems meet at Istanbul, the city can get some pretty gnarly winds. That coupled with incessant rain can make for a fairly miserable winter- even if the thermometer hasn’t dropped below 0 C. Case in point, the short walk to my metro stopped was littered with discarded broken umbrellas whose poor construction could not withstand the elements.

Definitely looking forward to Spring.
About mjbutterworth

I love drinking/making coffee, making/listening to music, riding bicycles, and reading about theology. I also like blogs that talk about those things. Most of all, I love Jesus because his gospel has changed my life.
This entry was posted in Istanbul, Turkey, Umbrellas, winter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

