Seven Swans Reimagined

It’s hard for me to think of an album I love more than Sufjan Stevens’ Seven Swans. The album is perfect in my mind. From the hypnotic “The Dress Looks Nice on You” to the painful sincerity of “A Size to Small” it’s an intricate work of art presented in such an understated, unassuming manner.  However, I was quite intrigued when I heard a group of musicians as eclectic as Bonnie “Prince” Billy, Half-Handed Cloud, Derek Webb, Unwed Sailor, and even CCM golden boy David Crowder were collectively reinterpreting all of Sufjan’s sophomore recording.  Certainly, covering Sufjan is old hat at this point, but covering an entire album- that’s notable. From what I’ve listened to, it’s a smashing success.  The diversity of genres points to both the scope of Sufjan’s influence as well as the richness of the original material.

Surprisingly, the tracks that have really stood out to me are by the artists I wasn’t previously familiar with, especially Joshua James’ cover of “To Be Alone with Alone” and Wakey! Wakey! ‘s take on “A Size to Small”. Listen here.

About mjbutterworth

I love drinking/making coffee, making/listening to music, riding bicycles, and reading about theology. I also like blogs that talk about those things. Most of all, I love Jesus because his gospel has changed my life.
This entry was posted in Music, Sufjan Stevens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

