Why I’m a Bicycle Commuter

I used to have a simple answer whenever someone asked me why I’m a bicycle commuter: I don’t have a car. But since I married into car-ownership this succinct albeit incomplete reply has become inaccurate, which has caused me to reflect on why I still prefer cycling to driving.  I’ve come up with 7 reasons so far.

1. Riding a bicycle is fun. I know some people really enjoy driving, but I find it an arduous means to an end. Somes days cycling is the best part about going to work.

2. Riding a bicycle is good exercise. The typical American lifestyle inevitably leads to obesity and other health problems. Commuting by bicycle is a great way to stay healthy, especially for people who don’t have time or money for a gym membership.

3. Riding a bicycle is cheap… comparatively.  You can buy a great bicycle for the price of a really awful car. Factor in gas, insurance, and title and registration fees and the annual savings of bike commuting can reach four figures easily.

4. Riding a bicycle is good for the environment. Human-powered transportation has a renewable, sustainable energy source.

5. I feel connected to my surrounding on a bicycle. Inside of a car it’s easy to feel like an isolated individual. On a bicycle you have no barriers between you, nature, pedestrians, and other cyclists, leading to an increased awareness of community.

6. I can do bike maintenance. In a day and age when cars are being increasingly computerized home maintenance is not a viable option. Bicycles are still wonderfully simple and entirely home fixable.

7. Bicycles are cool. And who doesn’t want to be cool?

About mjbutterworth

I love drinking/making coffee, making/listening to music, riding bicycles, and reading about theology. I also like blogs that talk about those things. Most of all, I love Jesus because his gospel has changed my life.
This entry was posted in bicycles, Cycling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I’m a Bicycle Commuter

  1. I should print out a copy of this to give to everyone who asks me the same question! Cheers,
    James

  2. Reblogged this on Beyond the Call and commented:
    After a break of about 7 years, a few months ago I started riding to my various jobs. It’s a 40km return ride to the city and back, including over 400 metres of climbing. With a young family, at the moment it’s the best way to get a good amount of riding in. When I tell people that I ride to work I get a mix of responses. Well this morning I came across this post by a fellow cyclist and coffee drinker which sums it up well…

  3. Bill Chance says:

    I have worked out my commute (mostly trying to find a route that won’t get me killed) and am really enjoying riding home from work on my bicycle. Now I’m working on doing other chores – I find myself building a customizable cargo bike.

    It’s a great thing – even greater when the summer heat breaks a little.

    Thanks for sharing.

  4. jodiemurrell says:

    Reblogged this on jodiemurrell.

Leave a Reply

