Trouble Will Find Me by The National

The National Trouble Will Find MeThe National’s new album, Trouble Will Find Me, is stunning. “I Need My Girl” is my favorite track after the first couple of listens. It features everything I love about The National: Matt Berninger’s forlorn baritone, moaning cryptic, evocative lyrics while the Dessner and Devendorf brothers provide haunting, understated instrumentation. The song slowly builds into a crescendo that never quite climaxes.

I am good, I am grounded
Davy says that I look taller
But I can’t get my head around it
I keep feeling smaller and smaller

I need my girl
I need my girl

Remember when you lost your shit and
Drove the car into the garden
You got out and said I’m sorry
To the vines and no one saw it

I need my girl
I need my girl

I’m under the gun again
I know I was a 45 percenter then
I know I was a lot of things
But I am good, I am grounded
Davy says that I look taller
I can’t get my head around it
I keep feeling smaller and smaller

I need my girl
I need my girl

There’s some things that I should never
Laugh about in front of family
Tried to call you from the party
It’s full of punks and cannonballers 


About mjbutterworth

I love drinking/making coffee, making/listening to music, riding bicycles, and reading about theology. I also like blogs that talk about those things. Most of all, I love Jesus because his gospel has changed my life.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

